top of page

About the Award

Dr. Alice Angney Scholarship for Leadership and Service


The Vermont Superintendents Association has established a student scholarship to honor former long-time Lamoille South Supervisory Union Superintendent, Dr. Alice Angney. The scholarship commemorates Dr. Angney’s outstanding service to public education and children in Vermont by providing a $3,000 scholarship to a Vermont high school senior. The scholarship is awarded on the basis of the student's leadership, service to his/her/their community, academic achievement and initiative in overcoming a specific challenge.


Information and forms for the annual scholarship will be posted on February 1st each year.  For additional information on the Scholarship see your high school guidance staff or contact Kristi Tate at the Vermont Superintendents Association at or (802) 229-5834. Open to high school seniors who are Vermont residents.

The 2023 application period is now Closed

Previous Award Recipients 

2022: Agnieska LaFleur of Lyndon Institute


2021: Alecia Thompson of Hartford High School


2020: Emma Farnsworth of Hartford High School


2019: Cecelia Kersten of Burr and Burton Academy

2018: Kiara Senecal-Herring of Randolph Union High School

2017:  Courtney Kondi of South Royalton High School


2016:  Jared Lehouillier of Lake Region Union High School


2015:   Alexa Wainright of Brattleboro Union High School

2014:  Thomas Magnan of Bellows Free Academy

2013:  Marina Turco of Black River Union High School

2012:  Georgia Parke of Stowe High School


2011:  Cherise Madigan of Mount Anthony Union High School


2010:  Ryan Cross of Peoples Academy


2009:  Elizabeth Sturgis of Union-32 High School


2008:  Philip Burgin-Young of Champlain Valley Union High School

bottom of page