The Frederick H. Tuttle Service Award recognizes a superintendent who has demonstrated exceptional leadership for the benefit of public education. The recipient of the Frederick H. Tuttle Service Award is VSA's Superintendent of the Year. The following recipients have received this award:


2018: John Alberghini, Chittenden East SU

2017: Jay Nichols, Franklin Northeast SU


2016: Tracy Wrend, Lamoille South SU

2015: Ron Ryan, Addison-Rutland SU

2014:  Brent Kay,  Orange Southwest SU

2013:  Elaine Pinckney, Chittenden South SU

2012: Ron Stahley, Windham Southeast SU


2011: Jeanne Collins, Burlington SD

2010: Tom O'Brien, Addison Northwest SU

2009: Dan French, Bennington-Rutland SU

2008: Mike Deweese, Chittenden Central SU

2007: Brenda Needham, Windsor SD

2006: Mary Moran, Rutland City Public SD

2005: Carl Mock, Hartford SD

2004: Lyman Amsden, Burlington SD

2003: Bruce Chattman, South Burlington SD

2002: William J. Mathis, Rutland Northeast SU

2001: James Lombardo, Addison Central SU

2000: Raymond J. McNulty, Windham Southeast SU

1998: Wayne T. Murray, Essex North SU

1997: Henry J. Burnham, Rutland South SU

1996: Brian C. O'Regan, Montpelier SD

1995: Alice W. Angney, Lamoille South SU

1994: Harold M. Boyden, Chittenden East SU

1993: Raymond J. Proulx, Essex Town SD

© 2015 by Vermont Superintendents Association. Proudly created with


2 Prospect Street - Suite 2

Montpelier, Vermont

​Tel: 802 229 5834

​Fax: 802 229 4739





Member Login

Twitter: @vtvsa